Chuck Roast? Au Contraire

July 4, 2007 at 9:29 am | Posted in Books, contest, Events, Lauren Reid | 2 Comments

You may have heard of my good buddy Chuck Klosterman. In fact, we’ve spent a lot of sleepless nights together. He’ll keep me up until the wee hours with bedtime stories – well, more like intellecutal essays – ranging from his life as a Sim or why he hates soccer so much. Each piece could serve well to spur your imagination and conversation.

Thursday, July 5th we’ll actually have a date together at the Mad Art Gallery, and I can’t wait.*

We share one distinguishing trait – overanalysis. Chuck (yes, I’d like to think we’re on a first name basis; and no, I’m not completely sure that I’ve been saying his last name correctly over the years) can turn something glanced over by many and construct it into a complicated and in depth analysis on culture or psychology. Through these ideas, his writing style is one to keep you interested. A firm chokehold on the neck of the English language forces it to scream “Uncle” in his wake, and scattered footnotes further his humorous commentaries. Not to mention that Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs is organized into a mixtape format, with chapter titles as playcount times and a bootleg CD title page.

So, all in all, vis a vie, this and that, I anticipate the reading to be one not to be missed. Give this guy the audience he deserves. I know I will.

Get to know Chuck Klosterman through his own words:
Fargo Rock City: A Heavy Metal Odyssey in Rural North Dakota
Sex Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs: A Low Culture Manifesto
Killing Yourself to Live: 85% of a True Story
and most recently
Chuck Klosterman IV: A Decade of Curious People and Dangerous Ideas
I imagine his next collection will be called Life as The Chuck: I Really Love Using Subtitles.

PS: If you pick ip IV at Left Bank Books, they’ll give you two tickets to the event! Cocoa puffs will be provided to snack on, and the man himself will judge a Jimmy Page look alike contest, so don’t forget to curl those locks and bring your best guitarist gleams.

*Granted, he’ll still have no idea who I am. He’s probably just here for the extra cash another tour date could bring rather than my own personal hopes and dreams.

2 Comments

  1. Sorry to be picky, but it’s a Jimmy Page from “The Song Remains the Same” lookalike contest.

  2. […] are going to push me through Broadcast II next semester when I’m feeling despondent and need to hear something encouraging. Thanks Chuck, you’ve already made my […]


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

