Song of the Week 7/12

July 12, 2007 at 11:34 am | Posted in Gabe Bullard, Song of the Week | Comments Off on Song of the Week 7/12

This week’s song comes through one of my favorite (and one of the best) music blogs out there now, Stereogum. so I can take no credit for finding it. Hopefully, though, if you aren’t already an SG reader, you will be now and I can take credit for turning you on to a great site.

The song of the week is Built To Spill’s cover of the Gladiator’s ‘Rearrange’.

Update: The link is now here.

Why did I choose a song from a well-known band hosted by a well-known site? Well, I have a bit of a history with this song. I first heard it when I saw Built To Spill at the Polish National Home in Brooklyn last winter. I loved the song and someone told me it was a cover, so I scoured New York to find a Gladiators album with the song on it. I finally found it, and loved the collection of tunes I bought, but I longed for a recording of the cover. Finally, today when I checked Steregoum, there it was.

So now you can enjoy the song without paying $20 to see the band. Without enduring a string of subway closures to get home at two in the morning, and without spending several weekends hunting through obscure record shops’ bargain bins to find what you so desperately crave.

Enjoy.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

