Taco-Flavored Kisses

September 19, 2007 at 12:44 am | Posted in Matthew Hurst, Rants | 4 Comments
Tags:

Saint Louis is urban oasis, filled with the trappings of city living, including street vendors.  We have Hot Dog stands and Ice Cream trucks. But what about Taco Trucks?

After listening to a story about the Taco Truck culture of scenic Oakland today, I have to wonder where in our auto-centric city exists these mobile meal machines?  I see our working Mexican-American population everyday, am an active patron of any number of wonderful mexican cuisine restaurants in town, and yet I yearn for the roving bean burrito.  Growing up in semi-rural Missouri I’ve only recently grown accustomed to meals on wheels urban culture (to say nothing of the drive-thru), so you’d think in a car centric town like this might have such a nomadic behemoth bevy of cheap, delicious food. Even New Orleans has received an influx of nature’s sandwiches delivered to the places people work  as of late.

How long must we live without the trappings of a multi-cultural environment invade our neighborhoods?  Yes, I love the almighty taco, nature’s own encasing of all that is delectable (or just vegetarian friendly).  Maybe they haven’t arrived in my neighborhood just yet.  Then again, I hear Ice Cream trucks rove South Broadway at night

4 Comments

  1. “Taco-Flavored Kisses” = one of the best South Park episodes ever.

    I could definitely be interested in roving burritos.

  2. I heard the same story and was thinking the same thing. We want taco trucks!

  3. I love that picture! Where did you get it?

  4. 1.)tacos so good
    2.) npr ftw!
    2.) i’m a big jeff rowland fan. check our wigu.com for more of his comic work


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

