Let’s Have Bizarre Celebrations

November 21, 2007 at 12:15 am | Posted in Concert, Matthew Hurst, music, Rants, the loop, Video | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

Of Montreal playing in The PageanNormally when I review a concert I try to include a few photos, or even a short video clip I managed to snag (without having my camera confiscated), but for a show last Monday night I found myself too engrossed dancing along to a band playing for visual documentation.  I was trapped in the aural bliss of celebrated pop act Of Montreal at The Pageant, a show I had meant to write about but was merely left included among our Upcoming events page.  So far, I’m sad to say, visual accompanyment hasn’t shown up there, although it’s easily at the behest of my fellow Flickrites and citizen journalists to fill this void.  Aural accompaniment was the real draw, the one luring us out on a school night of the 1st degree to bask in the radient bliss of “The Sunlandic Twins”, and more recently the irrational exuberence of “Hissing Fauna, Are You the Destroyer?”

The audience seemed unnaturally enthusiatic in comparison to a more typically subdued crowd for what could be commonly charecterized as an indie pop gathering, frequently jumping for joy and even cheering jubilantly for the sound check guy. The audience seemed dense around the bar and pit, although not quite a sell out.  As for any sell outs besides at the box office, let’s pretend they don’t exist.

2 Comments

  1. Thanks for the review, I am really unhappy with myself for not attending this show.

  2. This was such a fantastic show, although I only wished they used real drumming more often. The opening acts weren’t half bad, either.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

